In this section

    Subject Choices

    There are 25 A level subjects for you to select from in the Sixth Form.

    We offer a wide range of subjects so that you can choose courses that play to your strengths and interests. Full details of our Sixth Form academic curriculum options are given in the  Curriculum Choices booklet  below.

    Curriculum Choices booklet

    Initially pupils are given a free choice of subjects which the Director of Curriculum arranges in a timetable to accommodate as many combinations of choices as possible.

    In Lower Sixth, all pupils choose 3 A-level subjects or 1 BTEC and 1 A-level to study.  In addition, they can select from a range of enrichment qualifications which include:

    • A 4th AS or A level (including Further Mathematics)
    • Extended Project Qualification (EPQ)
    • Courses in ICT skills, Cookery, Sports Leadership

    In the majority of cases, enrichment qualifications will be completed by the end of the Lower Sixth.

    Upper Sixth pupils continue with 3 A levels, leading to 3 full A-level qualifications. Further Mathematics students, and those taking a 4th A- level, do not drop a subject in the Upper Sixth.

    Please click here for the A-Level Choices form

    Sixth Form students at Pocklington School are now being offered a BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Sport from September 2017, as part of the school's commitment to offering a breadth of opportunity in the curriculum.

    Please click here for information about the BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Sport